Introduction to Failure Modes and Mechanisms (CS042A)

Introduction to Failure Modes and Mechanisms

This e-learn course will provide you with an understanding of the underlying principles, concepts and technical parameters in failure modes and mechanisms as applied to pipleines giving the individual an all-round understanding of failure modes and mechanisms. The objective of this course is to provide an overview of failure modes (collapse, buckling etc) and failure mechanisms (corrosion, fatigue, etc)

This technical course has been authored by our industry expert and is designed to offer you with just-in-time knowledge related to pipeline integrity management. The courses can be studied as part of your learning journey, or used as a reference library.

Your course at a glance


Course Availability

Available to access online 24/7



Estimated 90 minutes



Study on-demand at your own pace



Awareness level


Competency Standards

Satisfies the learning requirement for
Failure Modes and Mechanics CS042A


What you will get

Completion E-badge, plus informal
Continued Professional Development hours

What you will learn

This technical course will give you insight into:

- Why failures occur
- Loading types (tension, torsion, compression etc.)
- Brittle and ductile failures
- Failure modes (collapse, buckling) and failure modes from pressure loading (leak etc.)
- Failure mechanisims (including corrosion and fatigue)
- Modes of failure (including ductile, brittle, overload and fatigue)
- Failure mechanisims and their causes (including cracking, corrosion growth and errosion), modes and final failure

Meet your subject matter expert


Dr Phil Hopkins

Dr. Phil Hopkins, an independent consultant based in the UK, developed all content for this program. Dr Hopkins has held a number of senior management and executive positions in the oil and gas business, and combines this high level management expertise with over 35 years engineering experience in transmission pipelines, including work on pipeline engineering, damage, safety, risk, integrity, surveillance, inspection and maintenance, and repair.